Kentucky Agricultural Leadership Program Selects Class 13

LEXINGTON, Kentucky. (January 13, 2022) – The Kentucky Agricultural Leadership Program selected 22 people for its Class 13. Based at the University of Kentucky’s College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment, the program provides an intensive leadership development experience for young farmers. and people working in fields related to agriculture. Its mission is to identify, develop and motivate Kentuckians for effective leadership in agriculture and rural communities.

The program consists of 10 national seminars focused on improving the leadership skills of participants.

“The program is designed to develop many skills, including communication, delegation, diversity, conflict management, civil speech and ethical decision-making,” said Emily Roe Brown, program coordinator.

In addition, participants will study emerging issues affecting agriculture and rural Kentucky communities. Class members will meet with local leaders, visit various Kentucky agri-food businesses, meet with policymakers and government agencies in Frankfort and Washington, DC, and travel to other states and nations to explore agriculture in different contexts. . The 35-year-old program has a network of over 300 alumni, most of whom are industry and community leaders.

Sessions for the new cohort will begin in February 2022 with a graduation celebration scheduled for August 2023.

“We are very happy that Class 13 encompasses the program’s goal of bringing together a passionate group of individuals with a diverse geographic, gender, racial, farm size and farming diversity,” said Will Snell, Co-Director from the British Agricultural Economist and Leadership Development Program. .

Members of Class 13 include:

  • Jack Allison: Springfield – Washington County. Sales Professional at Wright Implement.
  • Ramel Bradley: Morehead – Rowan County. Community Director at AppHarvest.
  • Caleb Brown: Princeton – Caldwell County. White corn, winter wheat, soybeans, alfalfa, beef cattle, tobacco. Accounts Receivable Manager for Hutson Inc.
  • Ryan Burnette: Pleasureville – Shelby County. Mixed vegetables, Berkshire pork, layers, broilers and lambs. Director of the Plant Division of the Kentucky Department of Agriculture.
  • Daniel Carpenter: Cecilia – County of Hardin. Katahdin sheep. University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Officer for Agriculture and Natural Resources in LaRue County.
  • Benjamin Carr: Mount Sterling – Montgomery County. Director of Advancement for the Kentucky 4-H Foundation.
  • Katie Cecil: Owensboro – Daviess County. Owner of Katie Ann Flowers and Cecil Farms Produce – watermelon, grains, mixed fruits and vegetables, fresh cut flowers and custom spray.
  • Carlynn Coombs: Smithfield – Henry County. Jericho Farm – Beef, Hay, Corn, Farm Market, Food Trailer, and Special Crops.
  • Chris Crumrine: Lexington – Fayette County. Director of Government Relations at the British College of Food, Agriculture and the Environment.
  • Beth Douglas: Pleasureville – Henry County. Beef cattle, organic hay, alfalfa hay and grass hay. Our Home Place Meat Marketing Manager with The Berry Center.
  • Steven Elder: Mayfield – Graves County. Agricultural consultant to the West Kentucky Alliance for a Vibrant Economy.
  • John David Fourqurean: Cadiz – County of Trigg. Operator of purebred and commercial cows / calves. Financial Manager at Farm Credit Mid-America.
  • Tyler Gay: Manchester – Clay County. Tyler Gay Enterprises, Gay Brothers Logging and Lumber – lumber, chips, dust, bark and logs.
  • Kristie Guffey: Murray – Calloway County. Commercial beef cattle breeder. Murray State University assistant professor and graduate studies coordinator.
  • Griffin Huelsman: Shelbyville – Shelby County. Executive Assistant at Heritage Farms. Angus cattle producer, rental of bulls, direct sale of beef to consumers.
  • Dore Hunt: Bowling Green – County Warren. Herd Manager Chaney’s Dairy Barn – Dairy, corn, wheat and soy.
  • Nathaniel Keith: Olmstead – County of Logan. Production Manager at Cal Maine Foods.
  • Bradley Loftus: Gracey – Christian County. Agronomist with Wheat Tech Agronomy.
  • Brandon Robey: Russellville – Logan County. Double R farms – corn, soybeans and wheat.
  • Robert Rouse: Hickman – Fulton County. Farm manager with Sanger Farm – corn, soybeans, wheat and rice.
  • Laney Snider: Franklin – Simpson County. Ruby Branch Farms – corn, soybeans, wheat, cattle, chrysanthemums, pumpkins and sunflowers.
  • Martin Williams: Bloomfield-Nelson County. Sunflowers, cow / calf producer. Project manager at the Kentucky Office of Agricultural Policy.

“It’s always exciting to start a new class,” said Steve Isaacs, KALP co-director and UK agricultural economist. “We are looking forward to getting to know this group.

Class 12, which debuted in October 2018, has seen travel postponements but will graduate in April 2022 following their seminar in Washington, DC. Their international learning trip is postponed until international travel is safer.

For more information on the program, please visit the KALP website at or the Facebook page @KYAgLeadership.

About Stephen Arrington

Check Also

High hopes after a “record” grape year | News, Sports, Jobs

Local grape production is expected to be lower this year, if only because …