Drury Women and Indy Men win conference titles

2022 Great Lakes Valley Conference Swimming and Diving Championships

Official Results (PDF) Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4


Drury opened the final session with a 1-3-4 finish in the 2021 NCAA bronze medalist’s 1650 freestyle Allison Weber (16:51.19), Marina Amorim (17:07.32) and Karianne Reinertsen (17:10.73). Indy’s Emily Colti-Dumitrescu (17:04.04) took second place. This gave Weber a clean sweep of the distance freestyle events, as she won the 1000 freestyle on Day 1 and the 500 freestyle on Day 3. Claire Conover (2:14.60) and Beak Cross (2:16.87) finished in the top two places in the 200 breaststroke, just ahead of Lindenwood Beata Maruszczyk and Missouri-St. by Louis Zara Konstapel, who tied for third in 2:17.14. Cross is the defending NCAA champion in the 200 breaststroke.

Indy’s Kristal Caylor added 100 free gold to the 200 free title she earned earlier this weekend. She and teammate Johanna Buys hit 1-2 at 49.96 and 50.15, respectively. At McKendree’s Karley Sonnenberg (50.25) edged out Drury Yasmine Preusse (50.57) for the third. Katie McCoythe defending NCAA champion from the University of Indianapolis, won the 200m backstroke by more than a body length, coming to the wall in 1:57.85, 1.6 seconds ahead of his teammate Andrea Gomez (1:59.46). Gomez barely touched his Lindenwood teammates Stephanie Marc (1:59.60) and Shelby Kasse (1:59.99) in the crowded race for second place.

UIndy concluded the competition by nearly breaking the championship record in the 400 freestyle relay. Purchases (50.44), Leticia Vaselli (50.96), Marizel Van Jaarsveld (50.15) and Caylor (49.37) combined for 3:20.92, missing the meet mark by a mere 0.22. Their relay victory drew the Greyhounds to within 5.5 points of Drury, but Drury’s third-place finish (3:23.16, just 0.03 behind second-placed McKendree) was just enough to stay atop the standings and win the conference title.



  1. Drûry 1878.5
  2. UIndy 1873
  3. Linden 1616
  4. McKendree 972
  5. Truman State 642
  6. Missouri-St. Louis 622.5
  7. Louis 545
  8. William Jewell 416
  9. Maryville 242


First-year student Cedric Buess won its fourth conference title to start the final session. After victories in the 1000 free, 400 IM and 500 free over the first three days, he finished the competition with a 15:19.03 to beat his teammate Sebastian Wenk (15:39.48) and Missouri S&T Alexander Graham (15:42.45) over 25 meters. For reference, Buessing’s time would have been fourth in the NCAA last year.

Drury’s Karol Ostrowski, the defending NCAA champion and Division II record holder, won the 100 freestyle in 42.62, the only sub-43 in the final. At McKendree’s Gregg Lichinsky, who won the 50 freestyle and 100 butterfly earlier this weekend, was second in 43.16. Lichinsky set the meet record in this event last year with 52.57. His teammate Alex Skinner finished third in 43.21.

Drury swept the top three podium spots in the 200 backstroke with Mikita Tsmyh (1:43.19), Nat Bighetti (1:43.44), and Andre Rodriguez (1:45.12). Tsmyh and Bighetti were under the meeting record of 1:43.53, set by Bighetti in 2020.

UIndy’s Likith Prema retained a quick charge David Mourao of Drury to win the 200 breaststroke, 1:55.63 to 1:55.76. Prema, who had already won the 100 breaststroke with a meet record on Friday, was out in 54.31, leading the field by more than 1.4 seconds at the halfway point. He was ahead 1.7 in the 150, but Mourao trailed him by 1.6 seconds in the final 50, nearly chasing him for the win. Philippe Pinheiro de McKendree came third (1:56.69).

McKendree broke another relay meet record, this time in the 4×100 freestyle to close out the encounter. Lichinsky (42.89), Lio Perez (43.63), Taras Zherebetsky (44.57) and Skinner (42.50) combined for 2:53.59, taking 0.7 off the competition mark they set in 2020.



  1. UIndy 1643
  2. Drury 1461
  3. McKendree 1365.5
  4. Missouri S&T 1252
  5. Linden 1129
  6. Lewis 656.5
  7. Missouri-St. Louis 629
  8. William Jewell 379
  9. Truman State 364
  10. Maryville 222

About Stephen Arrington

Check Also

SEC football 2022: 5 conference games to watch

The college football season is approaching and excitement is building for some major SEC matchups …